Ever feel like going back in time?

Have you ever felt like going back in time? This week, I almost feel that I have. I made Cream Cheese, from Goats Milk. Let me explain why, since it seems like a lot of work and money to do so.

If you’ve read my blog before, you know that I have found that I’m allergic to soy. I have found that anything with soy in it, makes me react. This includes soy oil and soy lecithin, which doctors will tell you that I should not react to, since the soy protein is removed. I’m here to tell you, the doctor’s don’t have a clue about it. I have found this last statement to be true more often than not. I joined a Soy Allergy Board on Facebook and most of the participants have reactions, or their children that are allergic to soy have reactions to items with any trace of soy. I will admit, not all do, so it becomes an ‘eat at your own risk’ type of situation. I know I have reactions, so I just eliminate all of it.

This brings me to the cream cheese. My youngest daughter has a favorite dinner that she calls Rice and Chicken Sauce. It’s a slow cooker Chicken Stroganoff. Here is the recipe, if you would like to try it:

4 boneless skinless chicken brests
2 T. Butter 
Salt, peppe, seasonings to taste (we add some paprika and a little garlic and onion powder
1 can cream of Chicken soup
8 oz. Cream Cheese 

Cut chicken into cubes, place in slow cooker. Add the butter and seasonings of preference. Cover and Cook on low for 5-6 hours. Do NOT add additional liquid. In 5-6 hours, add the cream of chicken soup and cream cheese. Cook another 30 minutes, or until the addition ingredient blend well when stirring. Server over rice or your favorite pasta

It’s really easy, quite rich, but delicious.  Harmless ingredients, right?  For someone with soy allergies, quite harmful.   Cream of Chicken soup, at least the popular Cambell’s canned soup, has MSG, which is derived from soy.  So, I had to make my own Condensed Cream of Chicken soup.  Click here for that recipe.

Now we get to the cream cheese.  It has carob gum as a thickening agent in it.  Carob has soy, and almost anything with the word gum, has soy, unless it specifies otherwise.  So, homemade cream cheese from scratch was what I needed to do.  The recipe I used is here.  Honestly, I went with her recipe because I loved her post.

So, here we go, pictures:

I started with a gallon of goat’s milk:

100_6383

 

I Should have used raw goat’s milk, but I was unable to find any, so I went with what I could find.  Next time, I will look for raw goat’s milk because it will process faster.  You’ll see why in a bit.

100_6384

 

This was after I brought the milk to 80F and added the cultures.  I then put the lid on the pan and moved it to an out of the way place for the next 12 hours.

100_6389

 

The next morning, I found this, a very loose yogurt appearance.  I probably should have waited a little longer before draining out the whey, but I’m not that patient. 😉

100_6394

 

Here I’m draining the curds and whey.  There is a bowl under the colander, and yes, I realize that the legs of this contraption don’t fit just right.  Again, working with what I had.

100_6396

 

View from the top.  Now, at this point, it should drain for 6-8 hours.  After 6-8 hours, I had a very loose cream cheese, almost like sour cream.  I let it drain over night and got this:

100_6407

 

Firm cream cheese, and tasted good too.  A gallon of goat’s milk made approximately 32 oz of cream cheese.  Now to go make some bagels for Rob to enjoy.

Next post, ginger ale, I made some from scratch. 😀

Leave a Reply

