Sadness

Today the Supreme Court started hearing arguments for and against same-sex marriage.  I will not express my views, as that is irrelevant to my post.  What is relevant is what I saw being posted on Facebook all day.  Hatred on both sides of the issue.  Yes, BOTH sides.  Though, I will say that I saw less hateful posts from those against same-sex marriage than I did from those that are for it.  This saddens me.

I saw some people posting ‘verses’ of the Bible trying to prove how racist and full of hate the Bible is, thereby implying that anyone that follows must be full of hate.  Here’s the problem with that; they are not reading the entire passage, and therefore taking it completely out of context.  That is one of my pet peeves.  If you are going to criticize a book and make accusations about it, at least read the whole thing and study it.  That way you can at least know what you are talking about.  Otherwise, you are going to sound like someone full of hate and animosity because you just don’t know.

There are very few beliefs that I will counter, because I don’t know enough about them.  Besides, it is not up to me to judge those beliefs or that person.  I’m only to present the truth, according to the Bible, to strive to live as Jesus lived, and to love all.  These are not easy things to do.  I struggle with one or more of these items constantly.  I am tested consistently and there are times that I fail.  But I do try to learn from it and move on.

Those that hate, or try to incite me to anger and hate them, honestly, I feel sorry for them.  I occasionally pray for them.  I probably should pray for them daily, however, I tend to forget because in my prayer, I spend so much time thanking God for all that he provides for me.  I’ve been so blessed, and God continues to bless me, that I cannot thank him enough.  God has given me a wonderful job, a house, a wonderful family, a fantastic church family, wonderful friends, and has provided everything that I needed.  Why wouldn’t I be thankful for that?

Even hubby’s migraine for the past 19 months is a blessing.  I have no idea how, yet, but it will reveal itself at some point.  When God has deemed it time for the migraine to go away, it will.  I have complete faith in that.  And yes, I say that knowing that we are trying to get him approved for a surgery that is supposed to help him.  It is still in God’s hands.

So, sadness is my word for the day.  I am saddened by the hatred I see around me and many that don’t think it is hatred, they think they are ‘educating’ those around them.  Instead, they are trying to bully those with a different point of view.  I feel for them, and I shall pray for them.

2 comments on “Sadness

  1. Mr. Josh says:

    Christians are not losing the battle because things like Same-Sex marriage are being more widely accepted, they are losing the battle because they are not “Following Christ”. In other words, they are more concerned with external things–like politics–which Christ never was. Rome in the time of Christ was very accepting of things such as same-sex marriage and as a nation, they were very successful. They also condoned things like pedophilia and rape. Even in all that, Jesus still told his followers “render to Caesar what is Caesar’s”. We have the wrong approach. Jesus was real with people. He treated them regardless of their current status. He healed the Centurion’s servant even after the Centurion admitted he was not worthy to have Christ come to his home. This was a guy who KNEW he didn’t deserve it and Jesus still helped him out anyway. The adulteress woman about to get stoned deserved (under the law) to be stoned. And we also have Jesus’ first miracle: Water into wine. This one fascinates me because he turned the water to wine AFTER everyone had already drank the rest of it. Even the master of the banquet (in John 2:10) admits that everyone already had to much and yet, here comes the best of the wine. Jesus drew people to himself not because he was harsh (to the sick/sinners), but because he showed he truly cared. In contrast, he was very rough in how he spoke to the religious of that time. To draw to a point, the “Christian” side should be the most loving and the most understanding. Instead, Christians show that their God has no power when the legalizing of same-sex marriage is the loss of all hope. Christ is the true hope and he is there for everyone. On the Cross, he looked right in the eyes of those who were mocking him, spitting on him, saying terrible things to him, and said “Father, forgive them for they know not what they do.” They know not what they do. Father, forgive them. Straight and gay alike. That should be our prayer. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

