Mayonnaise

I’ve made mayonnaise from scratch before.  I stopped because I had been making it in a blender and my blender started scrambling the eggs.  Therefore, not good mayo.  Today, I realized I could use my food processor.  I also found a recipe that called for a whole egg, not just egg yolks.  Great option for me since I really am not fond of separating eggs.  My 9 year old helped me, and unfortunately, she isn’t great at listening to explicit instructions and started adding the olive oil a little faster than I preferred.  I also erred in that I put the olive oil in the wrong measuring cup and it didn’t pour nicely.  I got oil all over the counter.  Oops!  Overall, it came out fine, and will serve its purpose of giving me mayo that I can eat that doesn’t have soy in it.  I made a chicken salad sandwich for dinner so that I would have some protein.  I’ll probably hard-boil some eggs tomorrow so that I can make some egg salad.  I will need to stop by the local veggie guy and pick up some celery to add to it.

As for the chocolate that I made last night – definitely a dark chocolate.  I prefer dark chocolate to milk chocolate, but this is even a bit much for me.  I’ll definitely be limiting myself to one of these a day.  Any more than that and it will be too much to handle.   it also tastes better cold out of the freezer.  I will need to think of how to tone it down a little.  But, they are definitely edible and will get eaten.

Leave a Reply

