Almond Butter

Today, I happened to get in email, from a recipe list that I subscribe to, the recipe for homemade peanut butter.  I’ve looked it up before, even before realizing that they use soy oil in most, if not all peanut butters, and never tried to make it.  I’m not sure why, probably laziness to be honest.  So, today, I figured I would check it out.  My first thought as I was clicking was “I bet they use vegetable oil, in which case, that is out of the question.”  To my happy surprise, she didn’t.  She didn’t use oil at all.  YAY!!!  All that was involved were the peanuts and a food processor.  Salt to taste as needed.  I figured I would give it a try.  Except, the only peanuts I have on hand, I would have to shell.  Ok, chalk up another lazy bit.  I didn’t feel like shelling a pound of peanuts tonight.  Oh, but we did have almonds.  Done deal.

I measured out a pound of almonds, put them in the processor, and put it on high for a long time.  Ok, it was about 10 minutes.  Because almonds don’t have the natural oil that peanuts do, I added some sesame oil at the end to thin it out a little.  I also added some Kosher salt.  And guess what?  It was pretty darn good.  I gave some to the elderly lady that we take care of and she LOVED it.  Said it was the best almond butter she’s ever had.  So, for the true directions, go here.  I was surprised that it came out pretty well.

Tomorrow, I will attempt Cinnamon Rolls in my bread maker, maybe.  It all depends on how tired I am in the morning.

Leave a Reply

