Grudges

Have you ever held a grudge?  I have.  I believe most of us have.  Hopefully, not for too long.  I’ve talked to my middle schoolers about this at AWANA.  When you hold grudges, you become bitter.  You become bitter and you start making yourself sick, and ‘ugly.’  Not physically, but emotionally and outwardly to what others see.

Today’s devotional discussed it a little:

Psalm 130:3-4

3 LORD, if you kept a record of our sins,
who, O Lord, could ever survive?
4 But you offer forgiveness,
that we might learn to fear you.
The comment after it is as follows:
Keeping a record of sins (or holding a grudge) is like building a wall between you and another person, and it is nearly impossible to talk openly while the wall is there. God doesn’t keep a record of our sins; when he forgives, he forgives completely, tearing down any wall between us and him. Therefore, we fear (revere) God, yet we can talk to him about anything. When you pray, realize that God is holding nothing against you. His lines of communication are completely open.
 We should learn from this example.  Why keep a record and build that wall?  It hurts not only you, but those around you.  It’s a difficult lesson for all of us.  And, admittedly, one that I fight with on a regular basis.  I do try to remember this and I do try to move forward.  Let me know when I don’t, please, so that I can correct that.
2 comments on “Grudges

  1. unibet says:

    Very cool opinion, cheers.

  2. forex foren says:

    Aloha, I absolutely enjoy this web-site. So much helpfull information. Bless you for sharing it with us. Regards!

Leave a Reply

