Purity?

As a parent, I often worry about how I can encourage my kids to remain pure.  Some may think that I’m too worried about it, but I don’t want my kids to make mistakes, or think that their value in a relationship is based on if they have intimate relations or not.  My kids are valuable because of who they are, and I don’t want their actions to discount that.  Psalm 119 touches on that a little.

Psalm 119:9-16

Beth

9 How can a young person stay pure?
By obeying your word.

It’s pretty clear, obey His word, and this helps you stay pure.  Ok, have my kids in an awesome school that keeps them in the word.  That’s one step in the right direction.  It’s not a guarantee, but it’s a step in the right direction.

10 I have tried hard to find you—
don’t let me wander from your commands.

The Psalmist comment is asking to be kept in the word.

11 I have hidden your word in my heart,
that I might not sin against you.

He has hidden God’s word in his heart, that he won’t sin against God.  This is what we are to do.  We are to keep God’s word in our heart so that we won’t sin against him.

12 I praise you, O LORD;
teach me your decrees.

Pretty clear, along the same lines… Praising God, asking to be taught His decrees.

13 I have recited aloud all the regulations you have given us.

He recites all the regulations that were given.

14 I have rejoiced in your laws
as much as in riches.

The Psalmist rejoices in the laws, just as much as if in riches.

15 I will study your commandments
and reflect on your ways.

The Psalmist promises to study His commandments, and reflect on His ways.  We are to do all this as well.  Without studying his commandments, and reflecting not only on His ways, but on Him, we risk losing the purity, we risk falling away.

16 I will delight in your decrees
and not forget your word.

This is one that I am constantly struggling with; delighting in the decrees, and not forgetting His word.  It’s not necessarily that I don’t delight in the decrees or that I forget His word.  It is more that sometimes, I’m not joyful from the heart, and this is wrong, I need to be joyful from the heart.  And well, my memory isn’t as fantastic as it was when I was a kid, so, I have to constantly remind myself of His word.

I believe that keeping my kids in the word will give them a head start.  It will give them a good chance at a higher self esteem knowing that they are daughters of the King of Kings and that they are better than what society expects of them.  They are what God expects of them.  And let me tell you, it’s not easy to be in that position.

Leave a Reply

