Carnival night

For those that do not know, I volunteer at my church and work at AWANA.  AWANA stands for Approved Workmen Are Not Ashamed and comes from 2 Tim. 2:15.  The group of kids I work with are the TREK kids, which are Jr. High level.  Typically, it’s 7th through 9th grade, though I have had a 6th grader and I’ve had 10th and 11th graders.  Because I live in a small town, so a pretty small AWANA group (we have about 100 kids total) we all try to be more flexible and my group is the one that tends to be the most flexible.

We have theme nights each week.  This week, was Carnival night?  What does that mean?  Well, we had a carnival during half the night for each of the lower age groups.  The younger kids were able to play carnival games and win tickets to buy things at the ‘store’ which consisted of pencils and stuff like that.  My group, the 7th grade and up, we actually work the carnival.  If there is time, we let them play some of the games a bit, but really, we work it.  First groups to come in were the Cubbies (Pre-school) and Sparks (K-2).  Then the T&T (3-6) came in for the last half of AWANA.  We do it in shifts to help keep it a bit more under control and let the kids have a chance to play all the games.

Let me tell you, I have an awesome group of kids in my group.  They all helped and didn’t complain at all, they served joyfully.  Now, to add to this awesomeness of these kids, tonight, I had a new girl join us.  She hasn’t been to AWANA for 5 years, before I started helping out.  We set her up to help with one of the other girls, and it was quickly found that she wasn’t needed there, so she came over and helped me with my station, then the station behind me was suddenly without someone to run it.  She quickly stepped up and went over and ran it the rest of the night.  First night with us and she stepped up and was just fantastic.

I’m looking forward to getting to know this young lady better.  I’ve known most of the rest of my group for a few years, and I already knew they were awesome, and nights like this just prove it more.  God has blessed me with a great group this year, and I’m so thankful for it.

If you have an AWANA program at your church, take your kids, get involved, it’s a fantastic time.  If you have one near you, really, get involved.  I will say that not all AWANA programs do carnivals and things like that, but the program itself is just so much fun.  Go, check it out, and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

