Depression?

For a long time, I thought that I might be depressed.  I was sad, a lot.  But after I read up on it, I realized I wasn’t depressed at all.  I was just sad about some things.  Tonight, in reading the devotional that I had discussed it a little, so it brought it back to the forefront for me.

Psalm 42:5-6

5 Why, my soul, are you downcast?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.

6 My soul is downcast within me;
therefore I will remember you
from the land of the Jordan,
the heights of Hermon—from Mount Mizar.

Why, my soul, are you downcast?  Downcast meaning depressed.  Why so disturbed, or distressed?  The verse then reminds us to put our hope in God.  It then reminds us that we will yet praise him, he is our Savior, and our God.

My soul was depressed within me, therefore, I will remember you from the land of the Jordan, from the heights of Hermon, from Mount Mizar.  This is referencing David’s past experiences with his relationship with God.

So, why are these verses important when talking about depression?  They remind us to focus on Him.

Today, in Sunday School, we were discussing 1 Peter 1:13-18.  We got on the topic of meditation.  The Bible tells us throughout, that we are to meditate on the word and on Him.  Science has proven that those that meditate are healthier and more centered.  Funny how the bible told us to meditate from the beginning, before ‘modern’ science got into it.  The key, however, is to make sure you meditate on the right things.  Meditate on the Word, on Him, so that evil does not have a chance to enter.  You need to  ‘gird’ up, or bind up your thoughts, protect them, so that they don’t runaway with ignorance or untruths.  No, I’m not saying to be close-minded.  This is about steeling your mind to the truth and not letting evil overtake it.  Be aware.

This is really not as difficult as it sounds.  The difficulty is actually doing it.  Reading the word, it’s that ‘simple.’  Meditate on it, and it will guide you to the correct decisions.  Learn the Word, it will help you throughout life.  Don’t be afraid to go to a pastor, elder, deacon, or church member you trust to ask if you are interpreting correctly.  I’ve actually had a non-believer ask me about actions they witnessed by someone else that proclaimed themselves to be a Christian.  Asked me how the Bible could ok the actions.  I am no expert, but the actions that I was being told about, I could state without hesitation, were not Christian like in manner, in any way shape or form.

Don’t be afraid, once you start, it gets easier with every day that you read.

One comment on “Depression?

  1. draw says:

    digital
    I’ll be sharing this using a couple of pals who might be thinking about this. You’d be surprised how a lot of people are looking for a thing like this. Thanks for posting this for us. 3d

Leave a Reply

