Trust

Relationships of all kinds rely on trust quite heavily to be maintained.  A wife trusts her husband to love and protect her.  A husband trusts his wife to love and take care of him.  A child trusts his or her parents to protect and provide for him or her.  A parent trusts his or her child to learn and be helpful.  A friend trusts another friend to be there to vent to, share happy times, and be supportive in rough times. A boss trusts the employee to get the job done and make them look good.  An employee trusts the boss to protect them  and provide guidance as necessary.  These are just some examples, a very small list.

Today, trust came to mind, and no, not because it’s Valentine’s day.  I actually prefer to not celebrate Valentine’s day, but that’s for a different post, should I ever feel like discussing it.  And before you ask, no, there are no trust issues in my relationship with my husband. Today, I saw a part of Proverbs that talks about trust.

Proverbs 3

   1My son, forget not my law; but let thine heart keep my commandments:

   2For length of days, and long life, and peace, shall they add to thee.

   3Let not mercy and truth forsake thee: bind them about thy neck; write them upon the table of thine heart:

   4So shalt thou find favour and good understanding in the sight of God and man.

It is my understanding that Proverbs was primarily written by King Solomon, and I believe to his son.  Please note that I said primarily written, as others also contributed to the writing of Proverbs.  Please let me know if I am misunderstanding.

So, with that understanding: My son, I think we can modify that to My children, or My people.  “Forget not my law,” as in, do not forget the law.  The law that is being referred to is Moses’ law. “But let thine heart keep my commandments:”  As a reminder, let’s look at the definition of heart:

3. the center of the total personality, especially with reference to intuition, feeling, or emotion: In your heart you know I’m an honest man.
4. the center of emotion, especially as contrasted to the head as the center of the intellect: His head told him not to fall in love, but his heart had the final say.

Obviously I didn’t consider the actual description of a persons heart, medically speaking.  So, we let our hearts, our personality, our intuition keep the commandments.  Imagine if everyone actually kept the Big 10 in their hearts.  People would actually get along.  There would be more peace than not.

Next verse:  2For length of days, and long life, and peace, shall they add to thee.

Goodness, I sort of just touched on that, didn’t I?  Actually, this statement, in my opinion, states that by keeping the commandments in your heart, , you will find peace within yourself. By having inner peace (as the secular world would call it) you will have a longer life.

Next verse:  3Let not mercy and truth forsake thee: bind them about thy neck; write them upon the table of thine heart:

Do not let mercy and truth, these are characters of God.  We should not let His love and truth forsake us.  So, what is forsake?

for·sake

[fawr-seyk]  Show IPA

verb (used with object), -sook, -sak·en, -sak·ing.

1. to quit or leave entirely; abandon; desert: She has forsaken her country for an island in the South Pacific.
2. to give up or renounce (a habit, way of life, etc.).

So, we should not let His love and truth leave us, abandon us. This is important to understand, as many of us, not just non-Christians, abandon His love and truth.  Some would call the Christians that are this way as “Saturday sinners, Sunday Saints.”  It refers to some of the hypocrisy that the world sees in many Christians.  So, instead, we should bind, fasten them about our neck.  I think of this as binding them to ourselves, so that we cannot forget them.  We are to remember them to ‘write’ them on the table of our heart.  This means we are to keep them in our heart.

Final verse for this post:   4So shalt thou find favour and good understanding in the sight of God and man.

By doing this, we find favor in the sight of God, and yes, of our fellow man.  Think about that for a moment.  I tell this to my TREK kids on a regular basis.  How we act and react is how people see and think about us.  If we act against the laws, we are sinning and acting poorly, just in general, our fellow people will see us poorly. They won’t trust us as people.  But the laws, if we keep them in our heart, and follow them, it builds the foundation needed for trust with others.

I challenge you to build that foundation, build that trust.  You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

