Grateful, still

Today, I was reminded in subtle ways of how grateful I am.  I have wonderful friends, neighbors, and family that I can’t say enough good things about.  I have an old friend that when he wanted to purchase a steer for meat, but wanted a partner to help share the cost, thought of me first, knowing that my family likes to know where our food comes from.  I felt and feel extremely honored by that.  I have a wonderful neighbor that my family gathers with every week for dinner and fellowship.  She listens to me and doesn’t treat me like I’m just a big whiner because I’m venting about something from work or life.  She even vents with me on the same things.  I’m blessed to have her as a neighbor and friend.  I am grateful.  My family couldn’t be more amazing.  My husband, who has had a constant migraine for 25 weeks still tries his best to make sure I’m happy.  My kids suddenly, without warning, just do things like wash the dishes and sweep the floor, when I haven’t asked.  They are both crazy smart and never cease to amaze me in their creativity.  My mom and sister are always there for me, always checking in on me to make sure that I’m doing ok.  My sister is even coming with me this year to a Woman’s Retreat.  I’m really looking forward to it.  I’ve been asking her to come for a few years and she is this year.  What a wonderful time we’ll have.  Which, by the way, another long time friend of mine is coming to that same retreat and that excites me as well.  I’m grateful for these people in my life.

I’m even grateful for those that I don’t have a lot of contact with.  The parents of the kids I work with at AWANA, past, present, and future.  The kids from AWANA, I learn from them as well.  The kids and parents at the school.  What a great family that is.

I’m grateful that God has brought them to me and put them in my life.  Look around you, be grateful for what you have because the people that love you so, they are there for a reason.  Even when they might drive you a little crazy sometimes, they are there for a reason and you should be grateful for that.

Thank you, God, for all these people you have put in my life.  Without them, I wouldn’t know what to do.  I wouldn’t have learned the lessons I’ve learned, had the encouragement that I needed, the love that fulfills.  Thank you.

Leave a Reply

