Ye of little faith

Three summers ago, I was volunteering to help with Vacation Bible School for the first time since I was in High School.  The VBS director is a good friend of mine and I told her to put me where ever she needed me.  That year, she put me in with the Pre-K and Kinders.  The next year was Grades 5-8, and last year was grades 1-2.  Anyway, that first year, the theme was Peter and his growth.  One of my favorite stories was in that week.  I’ll give a really short summary.

Jesus told the disciples to start heading across the sea while he prayed on the mainland.  He assured them he would meet up with them later.  There was rough sea and weather and the disciples suddenly saw a ghost like figure out on the water.  It was Jesus walking on the water out to the boat.  He invited Peter to come out onto the water with him. Peter did, and while Peter remained focused on Jesus, he walked on the water.  When he changed his focus, he dropped into the water and started calling out for help. This is what happened next:

31 Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him. “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?”

This reminds me that my focus needs to be on Him so that I will not falter.  When I don’t focus on Him, that’s when I fall.  That’s when temptation creeps in, when envy creeps in, when I fail.

God Bless!

One comment on “Ye of little faith

  1. I’d have to test with you here. Which isn’t something I often do! I take pleasure in studying a post that may make individuals think. Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

Leave a Reply

