Freedom

Today, I have felt anything but free.  Still reeling from the news yesterday of my friend, this morning I received some sad, scary news.  I won’t go into it, since it’s family and I’d rather keep that private.  I’ll just say that my family member is in the hospital.  So, I’m continually being tested emotionally and honestly, I’m failing today.

So, I need to focus on something else:

 Galatians 5:1-3:

Galatians 5

   1Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.

   2Behold, I Paul say unto you, that if ye be circumcised, Christ shall profit you nothing.

   3For I testify again to every man that is circumcised, that he is a debtor to do the whole law.

For some variety, I’ll add the NIV version:

Chapter 5

Freedom in Christ

1 So Christ has truly set us free. Now make sure that you stay free, and don’t get tied up again in slavery to the law.
2 Listen! I, Paul, tell you this: If you are counting on circumcision to make you right with God, then Christ will be of no benefit to you.3 I’ll say it again. If you are trying to find favor with God by being circumcised, you must obey every regulation in the whole law of Moses.

Many have a misconception that God only provided the 10 commandments as his law to be followed.  Well, those are the 10 primary laws that should you follow, the rest pretty much fall in line.  In actuality, in the Old Testament, there are hundreds and hundreds of  laws that the Hebrews were given.  Something like 800 or some number like that.  Most of these laws were/are used as a way to ‘cover’ our sins.  They are sacrificial items for us to follow so that we can atone for our sins.

This is where the wonders of Jesus come in. The item that is to be sacrificed must be pure, without blemish.  Jesus was the only human that was perfect.  He was without blemish.  Yes, I realize that non-Christians do not believe that.  According to the bible, Jesus fulfilled the prophecies that were predicted in the Old Testament.  Top it off with when he was crucified, he came back 3 days later, walked the earth for 45 days (I think that number is correct, but I’m too tired to go double check) and was seen by about 500 different people.  These are people that know he was crucified, buried, and now alive again.  He then went to heaven to be with the Father.

By doing this, he has set us free.  He has given us freedom.  We no longer are slaves to the laws and we no longer have to obey every regulation that was given to Moses and Aaron.  However, we need to remember to keep the big 10, at a minimum.  But we can’t rely on keeping the laws as our salvation.  We must remember that it’s our hearts and thoughts must keep them and we must put our faith and trust in Jesus to achieve ultimate salvation.

Are you keeping that law?

2 comments on “Freedom

  1. I enjoy you because of your own efforts on this website. Debby takes pleasure in participating in internet research and it is easy to see why. Almost all learn all regarding the dynamic tactic you provide useful suggestions through the web blog and even strongly encourage response from visitors on the matter plus my simple princess is now becoming educated a great deal. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the new year. You are always doing a wonderful job.

Leave a Reply

