Grateful

Today has been a very interesting day.  Just a quick catch up, last week, my computer died.  Hard drive died a serious death.  We’re still not sure if I can retrieve anything from it, but I may have lost a ton of stuff.  So, in the process, I got behind on my daily readings.  Tonight, new hard drive installed and updated, I caught up.  While doing so, came across this verse:

 2 Samuel 22:47

47The LORD liveth; and blessed be my rock; and exalted be the God of the rock of my salvation.

It was a nice reminder that he is my rock.  I started out with commenting that today was an interesting day.  After weeks of it being relatively slow at work, it got crazy busy.  And I mean insanely busy.  I was supposed to do two overviews on a process for another group and had to cancel one of them and really should have cancelled them both.  My error, and one I will not make again.

As well, the kids get home from school and the younger one left her homework at school, and didn’t have a great day at all.  A gentleman came to help the lady that lives on our property by packing her van with her hats that she sells locally, and brings his granddaughter, who likes to play with my kids.  Normally we just send them outside while I’m working and they can yell and scream outside.  Well, today, we send them outside and a dog comes into the yard.  Older daughter starts to freak out because its a different dog.  So we tell her to ignore the dog and just play with her friend.  What did she do?  Grabbed a leash and put it on the strange dog. Next thing we know, the younger daughter is banging on the window behind me, while I’m working, and talking on the phone, yelling for me.  It sent husband over the edge.

But I’m grateful, because of what I do have.  The girls came in and cleaned their room, I’m grateful for that.  We sat down as a family and watched Mr. Popper’s Penguins.  That put everyone in a better mood, I’m grateful for that.  Through all the weirdness today, God was my rock, my foundation.  I am grateful for that.  Without that foundation, I’m sure I would have lost my mind today.  So, I am grateful I did not.

The verse above while it reminds me to be grateful, you really need the next verses to get more of a feel.

 48It is God that avengeth me, and that bringeth down the people under me.

   49And that bringeth me forth from mine enemies: thou also hast lifted me up on high above them that rose up against me: thou hast delivered me from the violent man.

These verses are King David talking.  With verse 48, he is right, it is God that avenges, not us.  What is avenge?

a·venge

[uh-venj]  Show IPA

verb (used with object), a·venged, a·veng·ing.

1. to take vengeance  or exact satisfaction for: to avenge agrave insult.
2. to take vengeance  on behalf of:
So, our enemies, we do not take vengeance, that is up to God.  He will bring down those that he deems should be.  We should not.  For this, I am grateful.  Something else I don’t need to be worried about.
Verse 49, goes along the same lines.  A reminder that He will bring forth my enemies, but if I am right by Him, He will lift me up high and deliver me from the violent man, uncontrolled person is another way to look at that.  Again, for that I am grateful.  Honestly, I need all the help I can get.  He is there and helps me through it all, my foundation, and thereby, my salvation.
God bless you.
3 comments on “Grateful

  1. We stumbled over here from a different web address and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to exploring your web page repeatedly.

  2. gres says:

    Hey would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

