AWANA

I was asked tonight, by an old friend, what is AWANA.  Why did he ask this?  Because I mentioned to him that we had AWANA tonight.  AWANA stands for Approved Workmen Are Not Ashamed.  It comes from 2 Tim 2:15.

 2 Timothy 2:15:

   15Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

From the AWANA.org website:

Awana helps churches and parents work together to develop spiritually strong children and youth who faithfully follow Jesus Christ. 

There are programs from Puggles (1.5 year olds, basically, a babysitting service with Christian storytime) through Journey, which are the High School kids.  The inbetween are Cubbies (pre-school), Sparks (K-2), Truth and Training/T&T (3-6), and TREK (7-8/9).   The evening involves Counsel time/Story time, memory work, music time, and games.  Our church has theme weeks on top of the regular stuff.  Tonight, was crazy hair night.  I don’t have pics of what my kids did, but they had fun making their hair all weird and crazy.

I happen to work with the Trek Kids.  Most of my kids are 7th grade, I have a few in 8th, 2 in 9th, and sometimes a 10th grader, who doesn’t qualify for our Journey program, but her dad volunteers at the club, so I happily bring her in with me.  She was one of my first kids when I started volunteering at AWANA.  I love these kids.  They are great kids.  Very chatty, but great kids.

Tonight, after games (we have games every other week) we met in the classroom and we discussed bad habits and how to break them.  There are many theories on how to break bad habits.  The basics are as follows:

  1. Begin now – the longer you wait, the harder it is to break the bad habit.
  2. Discover the root – figure out the root of the issue as to why it’s a habit and develop the proper foundation
  3. Replace with a good habit – speaks for itself.  Replace the old habit with a good one.

There are scriptures throughout the bible that talk about these, though tonight I used the example of Hezikiah resolving the bad habits of his father Ahaz.

Tonight, I challenged the kids to determine one bad habit (each had admitted they had a bad habit) that they have, that they need to break, and to search the bible for a verse/scripture that will help them break the habit.  If they bring this to me next week, I’ll give them an extra help on their next Oasis.  What’s an Oasis?  I’ll tell you. In the TREK class, there is an Oasis after every 6 sections and to get through the Oasis, they must repeat 6 of the verses of the 12 from the previous 6 sections.  They don’t get to choose, it’s in the book on which ones they need to recite.  Normally, they get up to 2 helps per Oasis.  I’ve offered them a 3rd if they provide a piece of scripture to help them break a bad habit.  I think that’s pretty good incentive.  Specially because most of them rarely need help in the first place.  As I said, GREAT KIDS!!!

And that, my friends, is AWANA.

2 comments on “AWANA

  1. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

Leave a Reply

