Control

Part of today’s reading plans included Genesis 4:6-7.

6 “Why are you so angry?” the LORD asked Cain. “Why do you look so dejected?7 You will be accepted if you do what is right. But if you refuse to do what is right, then watch out! Sin is crouching at the door, eager to control you. But you must subdue it and be its master.”

This is after Cain and Abel presented their offerings and God rejected Cain’s.  Many believe that God didn’t approve of the fruits and vegetables that Cain provided, but God was actually unhappy with the intent behind the sacrifice.  His heart wasn’t where it was supposed to be, that was why it was rejected.  This leads to the what the verse is about.  Sin and evil is everywhere, ready to control you.  For some, this is in the form of addiction.  I’ll leave it at that because that is, in my opinion, the most common control that we see around us.  I, admittedly, have my own addiction, chocolate.  It’s one I fight on a regular basis.  Most people don’t think that enjoy chocolate is a big deal, well, when I’m having a rough day, I grab the chocolate.  I should not do this.  Will this addiction kill me, as a drug addiction might?  Probably not.  But it doesn’t help my weight.   So, this is one of the things that controls me.  Some would not consider chocolate a sin, but since it has a tendency to control me to a point of going to it when I’m having a rough day?  It’s something that needs to be controlled, by me.  I will need to work on that in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

