Pleasing

Today’s devotional was as follows…

Genesis 1:25 –

25 God made all sorts of wild animals, livestock, and small animals, each able to produce offspring of the same kind. And God saw that it was good.

Additional comment –

God saw that his work was good. People sometimes feel guilty for having a good time or for feeling good about an accomplishment. This need not be so. Just as God felt good about his work, we can be pleased with ours. However, we should not feel good about our work if God would not be pleased with it. What are you doing that pleases both you and God?

I agree with most of what this says, except the last statement/question.  To me, it doesn’t matter if it pleases me AND God, only that it pleases God.  I’m irrelevant in the equation.  Anyone remember Jonah?  Ummm, yeah, if I’m pleased, it’s a bonus, but not what I strive for, and honestly, if I’m pleasing God, shouldn’t I be pleased by that?

Leave a Reply

