Honesty

Honesty with others will be another post.  This post is about honesty with God.

Taking this from Psalm 6:6:

6 I am weary with my groaning; all the night make I my bed to swim; I water my couch with my tears.

This was David, talking to God.  In the daily devotion that I had today, which this was taken from, the following was added to the verse:

Pouring out his heart with tears, David was completely honest with God. We can be honest with God even when we are filled with anger or despair because God knows us thoroughly and wants the very best for us. Anger may result in rash outward acts or turning inward toward depression. But because we trust in our all-powerful God, we don’t have to be victims of circumstance or be weighted down by the guilt of sin. Be honest with God, and he will help you turn your attention from yourself to him and his mercy.

I read through it a few times, because the first time, all I could think about was why would I lie to God.  I mean, seriously, God knows our heart, what we’re thinking, our intentions.  Why on earth would we try to lie to him?  He knows us better than we know ourselves.  Many of us lie to ourselves and we think that that lie will become truth because it’s what we are hoping will be the truth.  But it doesn’t work that way.

So, in being honest, it can help us to get over anger or despair.  Secular Psychology will tell you that you need to discuss your feelings and work them out.  So, why not save some money and discuss it with God?  Trust in him to heal what is ailing you.  I find that when I’m having trouble, it’s because I’m focused on me, not Him.  When I focus on Him, things fall in place.  This is not coincidence, this is how it’s supposed to be.

So, with that in mind, for the new year, I intend to blog at least a little something, each day, focused on God.  Whether it’s from my daily reading, devotional, bible study, what have you.  Some days might be awesome, others, not so much, but my intent is to concentrate my focus Him, not me.

Leave a Reply

