Thoughts

In the morning, after I take the kids to school, and before I log in for work, I listen to the bible on my computer.  CDs that a dear friend loaned me that I put on my computer so that I could listen to them as I had time.  Anyway, last week, one chapter came up that caught my attention: Micah 2.  It starts out as:

1Woe to them that devise iniquity, and work evil upon their beds! when the morning is light, they practise it, because it is in the power of their hand.

Let’s break it down:

Woe, meaning an exclamation of grief (according to dictionary.com), to them that devise, meaning ‘to form a plan,’ iniquity, ‘meaning a violation of right or duty; wicked act; sin.’  So, bringing that to what does it mean?  It is grief for those that plan a violation of right, or plan a wicked act, or a sin.

That’s what caught my attention.  What an opening.

They work even in their beds, and no, I don’t think bed is literal.  You know the saying “you made your bed, now you can lie in it?”  Same idea.   So, then, we have when the morning is light, they practise it, because it is in the power of their hand.  Basically, those that plan to practice a wicked act, or to sin, we should grieve for them for they have the power not to, and choose to do so.

 2And they covet fields, and take them by violence; and houses, and take them away: so they oppress a man and his house, even a man and his heritage

We all know covet, meaning, we want something someone else has. Those that devise iniquity, will covet and that will bring them to be violent to obtain what they covet, take away from others, oppress others.  Sound familiar?  It happens all around you, and you may fall victim to it yourself.  I know I have in the past.

 3Therefore thus saith the LORD; Behold, against this family do I devise an evil, from which ye shall not remove your necks; neither shall ye go haughtily: for this time is evil.

Therefore, because of the previous, the Lord will devise, plan, on those, and we will not be snobbish as it is up to God to deal with it and judge, not us.  If we become snobbish, or haughty, it adds to the evil and is against God’s will.

 

I will continue more later this week.

Leave a Reply

