The holiday season begins…

Yes, it has, whether we were ready for it or not.   Me, being different, I guess, consider Thanksgiving part of the holiday season.  To me, Thanksgiving is one of the best holidays ever.   I look forward to it every year.  Spending time with my family, immediate and extended, and eating wonderful food.  What can be better?

The part I do NOT like is from the day after Thanksgiving through Christmas Eve.  I dread this time period.  I am not a shopper.  I know, shocking.  A woman who doesn’t like to shop.  It’s true, I despise it and avoid it at all costs.  Black Friday gives me the heebee-geebees (sp) and honestly, I just don’t understand it.  Yes, I’ve seen some of the bargains advertised. And yes, some are some really awesome deals.  I will not deny that.  But is it worth your safety and sanity to try to get one of those items?  You can probably do without it.  Seriously, you probably can.  I realize that not all stores have the craziness that causes harm to others, but I can tell you that my mom used to do Black Friday every year.  She would be at the store at 6am, when it opened, shop, and be done by 8am, 9am at the latest.  I said ‘used to.’  The reason for this is the last year she went, she was walking through Mervyn’s (former department store here in California) and stopped by a table of sweaters.  Knowing my dad needed a new sweater, she started looking through to see if there were any in my dad’s size.  She find ones and goes to hold it up to see if it would be a good sweater for him and some woman grabbed it out of her hand, practically ripping the material and started yelling at my mom something to the effect of “How dare you, that’s mine.”  Ok, it was laying on the table, not in a cart or say, in someone’s hands.  My mom just walked out of the store and came home.  It wasn’t worth it at that point.

So, this brings up the next question… Why are some people so rude?  I get the rushing to a table to try to get what you need, but honestly, ripping things out of others hands?  Taking items out of their carts?  Spraying them with pepper spray?  And in some cases, worse, shooting them?  What is wrong with this picture?  What has our society come to, that this type of behavior is ‘normal?’   I have to believe that these people that are spraying with pepper spray and shooting others are brought to justice, so let’s leave those situations out for now.  When has it ever been acceptable to take items out of a cart that someone else is using?  Or to rip something out of someone else’s hands?  Why has our society become so obnoxious and rude?  And, in my observation, it is always at it’s worse between Thanksgiving and Christmas.  This is supposed to be a happy time of year, where we celebrate.

I’m not going to go on a long dialogue about how people should and should not act.  I think my short one is sufficient.  And, I will end that there.

See you soon.

2 comments on “The holiday season begins…

  1. Mr. Josh says:

    It comes down to Covetousness and contentment. We are told time and time again in Scripture to be content. So basically, to want something bad enough that you have to be rude, violent, and obnoxious is simply a heart condition–one hardened by covetousness and want (not need). Gift giving at Christmas should be a beautiful thing. Instead, it’s about trying to please someone who selfishly thinks that the gift should be about THEM instead of something heartfelt. I have to be careful before this turns into a blog itself (or maybe I should return to writing one like I did before). 🙂

    • tukwut says:

      I completely agree Josh. You stated it very well. I should have, and didn’t. My own issue with being so tired and in so much pain today. I wasn’t thinking clearly, which is why I cut it short. lol I thank you for commenting and stating it so wonderfully. And yes, your blog, always have enjoyed reading it. You should go back to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

