Are you a servant? Part 2

The next verse: Ph. 2:4 reads:
Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others. 

This, to me, seems pretty self explanatory.  Basically says, to not look onto your own things (or life) but onto others.  Pastor translated this quite frankly with “Are you too busy to help others?  Than you are looking on to your own things.” (not an exact quote)

This, for me, really is difficult.  I happen to be, quite busy.  But you know, I need to find time to help others.  Some may say “But you’re already a working mom, taking care of a sick husband, yourself being sick, raising two kids, and helping an elderly lady that lives ‘with’ you.  You don’t have time.”  Well, I need to make time.  I’m not sure how, but I need to do it.   We’ll see how well I do at that.

 

Ph 2:5:

Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:

Basically, this is a decision we must make to change our mind to think as Jesus would want us to think, to act as Jesus acted, to do as Jesus did.  It’s a concerted effort.  It does not come naturally.  We’ve been told the opposite for so long.  We need to now make the effort to do as we’re commanded.  I am making that effort now.  I can only hope that I can put a smile on His face with the work I do, with the attempts I make, with the help I attempt to give.

To be continued…..

Leave a Reply

